Help NOLA Delegation Deliver

Need Even More from Our Delegation and Citizens

By Jeff Thomas

On the heels of the one of the most successful legislative sessions in modern history, the New Orleans legislative delegation must do more in this session or risk losing all the gains made.  Our delegation’s leadership and clout led to the most transformative and impactful laws to ever come from the Louisiana legislature in the last 75 years.  But this session presents even more complex and problematic challenges based upon the needs of the city of New Orleans.  And currently our delegation seems to be losing ground. 

Last year, Louisiana passed progressive legislation that improves the lives of all of our citizens.  Most celebrated is the unanimous juries’ legislation that removed a revolting racist relic and now requires unanimity in jury decisions.  No more kinda’ sorta guilty people sentenced to life in prison without the possibility of parole.  Also, a new law provides protection against gentrification caused property tax hikes and convicted felons can now get jobs with the city or state.  Regressive sales taxes were not allowed to balloon out of control.

Combined, these laws will directly improve all of our lives.  But the current session is underway, and funding New Orleans’ infrastructure repairs is currently being debated in the House Ways and Means Committee.  In fact, there is an important meeting of the committee this afternoon.  There is resistance to our legislative delegation. 

As you are painfully aware, the City is facing a major infrastructure crisis. Our streets are crumbling; boil water advisories occur too often; more than half our water is lost through leaky pipes; and street flooding is common.  

Yet, our local tax dollars are going elsewhere. 14% of all local taxes ($151 million) goes to tourism and sports entities. By contrast, a pitiful 3% ($32 million) goes to streets.  

Mayor Cantrell is working hard to obtain a larger share of tourism taxes for basic infrastructure. However, she is running into serious resistance in Baton Rouge.

YOU CAN HELP THE CITY IN ITS BATTLE FOR INFRASTRUCTURE FUNDS. PLEASE EMAIL OR PHONE MEMBERS OF THE HOUSE WAYS AND MEANS COMMITTEE TO LET THEM KNOW THAT NEW ORLEANIANS ARE FED UP.  WE WANT A FAIR SHARE OF OUR TOURISM TAXES REDIRECTED TO BASIC INFRASTRUCTURE.

Time is of the essence, since the committee meets on Monday afternoon to hear three bills that would increase the City’s share of hotel taxes (HB 521, 522 and 573). Members’ contact information is below.   You can click the links or copy and paste and directly reach key legislators.  Do it now! It’s important!

CONTACT INFO

MemberPositionDistrictPartyEmailPhone Number
Abramson, Neil C.                   Chairman                   District   98              D         abramson@legis.la.gov(504)275-8051
Morris, James “Jim”                   Vice Chair                   District   1              R         larep001@legis.la.gov(318)995-6852
Bouie, Joseph                   Member                   District   97              D         bouiej@legis.la.gov(504)286-1033 
Bourriaque, Ryan                   Member                   District   47              R         hse047@legis.la.gov(337)893-5035 
Davis, Paula                   Member                   District   69              R         davisp@legis.la.gov(225)362-5301
DeVillier, Phillip                   Member                   District   41              R         devillierp@legis.la.gov(337)457-0194
Duplessis, Royce                   Member                   District   93              D         duplessisr@legis.la.gov504-568-2740 
Dwight, Stephen                   Member                   District   35              R         dwights@legis.la.gov(337)491-2315
Harris, Jimmy                   Member                   District   99              D         harrisj@legis.la.gov(504)243-1960 
Horton, Dodie                   Member                   District   9              R         hortond@legis.la.gov(318)949-2463
Huval, Mike                   Member                   District   46              R         huvalm@legis.la.gov(337)332-3331
Ivey, Barry                   Member                   District   65              R         iveyb@legis.la.gov(225)261-5739
James, Edward C. “Ted”                   Member                   District   101              D         james.ted@legis.la.gov(225)343-3633 
Johnson, Robert A.                   Member                   District   28              D         johnsoro@legis.la.gov(318)253-8891
LaCombe, Jeremy                   Member                   District   18              D         hse018@legis.la.gov
Morris, John C. “Jay”                   Member                   District   14              R         morrisjc@legis.la.gov318)362-4270 
Schexnayder, Clay                   Member                   District   81              R         schexnayderc@legis.la.gov(225)473-6016
Stefanski, John M.                   Member                   District   42              R         stefanskij@legis.la.gov(337)384-8999 
Stokes, Julie                   Member                   District   79              R         stokesj@legis.la.gov(504)468-8603
Barras, Taylor F.                   Ex Officio                   District   48              R         barrast@legis.la.gov(337)373-4051
Leger, Walt III                   Ex Officio                   District   91              D         legerw@legis.la.gov(504)556-9970

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *